Quick answer

Our overall pick is Nature Made Magnesium Citrate 250 mg, since its title states the dose and form plainly. NOW suits readers who need vegan, kosher or halal labeling, while the Supplement-brand product and NobiNutrition offer 500 mg per serving in different bottle counts and forms.

If you are shopping for magnesium citrate for muscle recovery, you will find many listings that make broad claims. This roundup compares four Amazon listings on the details they state: magnesium per serving, capsule count, form and certifications. We have not tested any of these products, and the listings do not show that any of them speeds recovery.

Magnesium plays a role in many body processes, but a product page is not evidence of an outcome. Use this guide to compare labels, then read our explainers and the Recovery category for context on what recovery tools can and cannot do.

Our picks at a glance

1
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Dose stated in the title: 250 mg per serving
  • 120 softgels per the listing
  • Citrate form named in the title
  • Manufacturer listed as Pharmavite

Cons

  • The listing does not mention third-party testing
  • The listing does not state dietary classifications such as vegan or gluten-free
  • Softgel format only in this listing
2
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Vegan, Kosher, Halal and Keto Friendly classifications listed
  • GMP certification described in the listing
  • Packaged in the USA, per the listing
  • 240 veg caps per bottle

Cons

  • The listing does not state magnesium per capsule
  • The listing notes products may arrive warm during summer months
  • The listing does not mention third-party testing beyond GMP certification
3
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • 500mg per serving, one capsule daily
  • 240 capsules, up to an 8-month supply per the listing
  • Third-party lab tested per the listing
  • Made without the allergens the listing names

Cons

  • Listing uses both 'chelated' and 'elemental' wording; confirm the form on the label
  • The listing does not mention certifications beyond Non-GMO
  • The listing does not state a manufacturing location
4
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • 500 mg elemental magnesium per serving
  • Third-party tested per the listing
  • Free of gluten, dairy and soy per the listing
  • Compact package at 2.25 x 2.25 x 4.7 inches

Cons

  • Blend includes magnesium oxide, not citrate alone
  • Only 60 capsules, a 2-month supply per the listing
  • Listing focuses on constipation and calm support; it does not mention muscle recovery directly

How we chose

We compared manufacturer listings and specifications on Amazon as of November 2026. We did not test, taste or measure any product hands-on, and our picks reflect only what each listing states.

The criteria were the magnesium amount stated per serving, the number of units per bottle, the product form, the certifications or testing claims the listing names, and how clearly the listing describes its ingredients. Where a listing did not state an amount, we say so rather than fill it in.

Best Magnesium Citrate for Muscle Recovery: our picks in detail

1. Best overall: plainly stated 250 mg dose: Nature Made Magnesium Citrate 250 mg, 120 softgels

Nature Made Magnesium Citrate lists 250 mg per serving in its title and comes as 120 softgels. The manufacturer is listed as Pharmavite. The package is listed at 10.54 ounces, with dimensions of 2.88 x 2.88 x 5.2 inches.

The listing is brief. It includes the standard FDA disclaimer that these statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration and that the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Because the listing does not spell out ingredients or allergens, check the supplement facts panel before you buy.

Best for: Readers who want a clearly labeled 250 mg magnesium citrate softgel and are comfortable confirming ingredient and testing details on the label.

Pros

  • Dose stated in the title: 250 mg per serving
  • 120 softgels per the listing
  • Citrate form named in the title
  • Manufacturer listed as Pharmavite

Cons

  • The listing does not mention third-party testing
  • The listing does not state dietary classifications such as vegan or gluten-free
  • Softgel format only in this listing
See the Nature Made Magnesium Citrate 250 mg, 120 softgels on Amazon

2. Best for vegan, kosher and halal labeling: NOW Magnesium Citrate, 240 Veg Caps

NOW Magnesium Citrate, Enzyme Function, is listed with 240 veg caps. Its feature bullets describe magnesium’s role in energy production, muscle contraction and nerve impulse transmission. Listed classifications include Kosher, Vegan, Soy Free, Keto Friendly, Non-GMO and Halal.

The listing says the manufacturer uses NPA A-rated GMP certification and that the product is packaged in the USA by a family owned and operated company since 1968. The listing does not state the magnesium amount per capsule, so check the label before comparing doses. The package is listed at 3.53 ounces.

Best for: Readers who need vegan, kosher or halal labeling and do not need the dose per capsule stated in the title.

Pros

  • Vegan, Kosher, Halal and Keto Friendly classifications listed
  • GMP certification described in the listing
  • Packaged in the USA, per the listing
  • 240 veg caps per bottle

Cons

  • The listing does not state magnesium per capsule
  • The listing notes products may arrive warm during summer months
  • The listing does not mention third-party testing beyond GMP certification
See the NOW Magnesium Citrate, 240 Veg Caps on Amazon

3. Best for 500 mg once-daily capsules: Supplement Magnesium Citrate 500 mg, 240 caps

This Supplement-brand magnesium citrate is listed at 500mg per serving, with 240 capsules and one capsule taken once daily. The listing describes an up-to-8-month supply. It also says the product is third-party lab tested and Non-GMO, and that it is made without gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, soy, wheat, yeast and tree nuts.

The features use both ‘chelated’ and ‘elemental’ wording for the magnesium, so the Supplement Facts panel is the place to confirm the exact form. The package is listed at 5.28 x 2.68 x 2.67 inches and 7.05 ounces. The listing names the same brand as the product as the manufacturer.

Best for: Readers who want 500 mg per serving in a once-daily capsule with a 240-count bottle.

Pros

  • 500mg per serving, one capsule daily
  • 240 capsules, up to an 8-month supply per the listing
  • Third-party lab tested per the listing
  • Made without the allergens the listing names

Cons

  • Listing uses both ‘chelated’ and ‘elemental’ wording; confirm the form on the label
  • The listing does not mention certifications beyond Non-GMO
  • The listing does not state a manufacturing location
See the Supplement Magnesium Citrate 500 mg, 240 caps on Amazon

4. Best for 500 mg citrate and oxide blend: NobiNutrition Magnesium Citrate Complex 500 mg

NobiNutrition Magnesium Citrate Complex is listed at 500 mg of elemental magnesium per serving, from a blend of magnesium citrate and magnesium oxide. Each bottle holds 60 capsules, described as a 2-month supply at one capsule per serving. The listing says the product is third-party tested and free of gluten, dairy and soy.

The listing also presents the product for constipation support and for calm, relaxation and sleep, and says it supports normal muscle relaxation. These are the listing’s own claims, and we have not verified them. The package is listed at 2.25 x 2.25 x 4.7 inches and 3.21 ounces.

Best for: Readers who want 500 mg of elemental magnesium from a citrate and oxide blend in a smaller bottle.

Pros

  • 500 mg elemental magnesium per serving
  • Third-party tested per the listing
  • Free of gluten, dairy and soy per the listing
  • Compact package at 2.25 x 2.25 x 4.7 inches

Cons

  • Blend includes magnesium oxide, not citrate alone
  • Only 60 capsules, a 2-month supply per the listing
  • Listing focuses on constipation and calm support; it does not mention muscle recovery directly
See the NobiNutrition Magnesium Citrate Complex 500 mg on Amazon

Magnesium citrate picks at a glance

Attribute Nature Made NOW Supplement Brand NobiNutrition
Form Softgels Veg caps Capsules Capsules
Magnesium per serving 250 mg Not listed 500mg 500 mg elemental
Units per bottle 120 softgels 240 veg caps 240 capsules 60 capsules
Certifications or testing Not listed Kosher, Vegan, Soy Free, Keto Friendly, Non-GMO, Halal; GMP certification Third-party lab tested; Non-GMO Third-party tested

How to choose magnesium citrate for muscle recovery

Start with the amount. Some labels state the total weight of the magnesium compound, while others state elemental magnesium, meaning the amount of the mineral itself. These listings describe their doses differently, so read the Supplement Facts panel before comparing them side by side. Our explainer on magnesium oil for muscle recovery covers topical forms, which raise separate questions from oral supplements.

Next, look at form and count. Softgels, vegetarian capsules and standard capsules differ in their shells and sometimes in how they suit your routine. Count matters for planning, because a 60-count bottle and a 240-count bottle last very different lengths. Check whether the listing describes one capsule per serving and whether the bottle is a one-time supply.

Then check certifications and testing. The listings name different things. NOW lists dietary classifications and GMP certification, the Supplement-brand listing and NobiNutrition say they are third-party tested, and the Nature Made listing does not name a testing claim. If you follow a vegan, kosher, halal or gluten-free diet, match those labels against your needs rather than assuming.

Finally, remember what a listing can and cannot tell you. Product pages describe intended uses, and their FDA disclaimers say the statements have not been evaluated. Recovery depends on training load, sleep, protein intake and overall diet, and a supplement is only one piece. For a plan that fits your health history, a registered dietitian can help. Follow the manufacturer’s directions and the label. For broader context, see the supplements comparison and our magnesium spray explainer.

What to look for

  • Elemental magnesium per serving, as stated on the label
  • Form and number of units per bottle
  • Listed certifications that match your diet
  • Third-party testing or GMP claims, if the listing states them
  • Clear ingredient and allergen information
  • Storage notes, such as heat warnings in the listing

FAQ

Does magnesium citrate speed up muscle recovery?

The listings in this roundup do not make a recovery claim we can verify, and we did not test any product. For what the evidence shows about magnesium used on the skin, read our magnesium oil evidence explainer. Treat any oral supplement as one part of a training and nutrition plan.

What does elemental magnesium mean?

It refers to the amount of the mineral itself, as opposed to the total weight of the compound it is bound to. Labels can list either, so check the Supplement Facts panel before comparing doses across products.

Should I check with a clinician before taking a magnesium supplement?

Yes, especially if you take other medicines or have a health condition. The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics at eatright.org can help you find a registered dietitian. Follow the directions on the label.

References

  1. Amazon product listings and manufacturer specifications (accessed November 2026)
  2. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, eatright.org: https://www.eatright.org/
Hudson Ashford

About Hudson Ashford

Hudson focuses on practical advice for fitness science explainers: what matters before you buy, what to skip, and how to get more out of what you already own.